Meeting/Event Information

    2018 May Denver Dinner Meeting

    May 16, 2018
    5:00 PM - 8:00 PM
     Add to Calendar

    Jackson's Sports Rock
    1520 20th Street
    Denver, CO 80202

    This is a joint meeting with the Young Engineers of ASHRAE (YEA).  All YEA Members attending meeting will receive two complimentary drink tickets sponsored by Air Purification Company!



    The U.S. Department of Energy Race to Zero inspires collegiate students to become the next generation of building science professionals through a zero energy ready buildings design challenge. As industry looks to close the gap to more net zero energy construction, Race to Zero teams are tasked with exploring how to apply net zero across climates both nationally and internationally. For the past five annual competition events, teams developed comprehensive, integrated residential designs with industry partners that are market-ready and innovative. While each team addressed home design differently through upgrades to existing production builder plans, new developments to meet community needs, or existing building renovations and retrofits, the competition requires their solutions meet zero energy ready residential standards. To develop competitive designs, teams employ various innovative technologies and strategies, including water conservation and reuse, plug-load controls, building modeling with diverse software packages, designing for extreme siting constraints, and integration into the community and greenscapes. Through an interdisciplinary, collaborative design approach, Race to Zero teams gain understanding of the concepts needed to achieve zero energy buildings. The presentation will share case studies of the winners, demonstrating the solutions and tools used to reach zero energy ready homes. The Race to Zero is moving the industry towards net zero by teaching professionals entering the workforce about strategies to reach net zero.



    Rachel Romero is an energy engineer at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) in the Integrated Applications Center.  Rachel is the competition manager for the U.S Department of Energy Race to Zero Student Design Competition, which inspires the next generation of collegiate students to design net zero buildings. Also, she is the project manager and technical assistance program coordinator for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) energy management program.  Rachel obtained her Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from Hope College and then received her master’s degree in Building Systems Engineering at the University of Colorado Boulder and a graduate energy certificate from the Renewable and Sustainable Energy Institute (RASEI). She received her PE in 2014. Rachel is an active member of ASHRAE and acts as the Region IX Young Engineers in ASHRAE (YEA) Regional Chair and the programs chair for TC 7.1 Integrated Building Design.


    $35.00 Non-Member Registration

    $2.00 1 Raffle Ticket

    $5.00 3 Raffle Tickets

    $25.00 Member Registration (advance registration)
    $35.00 Member Registration (at the door)

    Future Meetings

    Social Event - Virtual Bingo!

    June 10, 2020
    12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

    Virtual - Microsoft Teams

    Join us for some virtual fun!

    Read More

    Register Now

    28th Annual Technical Conference

    June 15, 2020 11:30 AM to June 19, 2020 12:30 PM

    Online (link will be sent out prior to event)

    Join us at Rocky Mountain's 2020 Technical Conference!

    Read More

    Register Now



    This web site is maintained by The Rocky Mountain Chapter of the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers, Inc. (ASHRAE). It does not present official positions of the Society nor reflect Society policy. ASHRAE chapters may not act for the Society and the information presented here has not had Society review. To learn more about ASHRAE activities on an international level, contact the ASHRAE home page at

    This website is maintained by Corey Abro and Steven Wancewicz, Rocky Mountain Chapter of ASHRAE Webmaster. Please forward all comments, questions and suggestions to us at [email protected]

    This page was updated on 04-Jan-18